Library of Political Sciences

Library of Political Sciences

The Library of the Department of Political Sciences provides a specific collection for the research fields of this department.

Library of Political Sciences
Department of Political Sciences
Universiteitstraat 8 (courtyard)
9000 Gent
Tel.: +32 9 264 68 11
Opening hours
The catalogue and databases can be consulted
An overview of the main databases for the
faculty is available on :

General closing days

  • Friday 1 November 2019 (All Saints’ Day)
  • Monday 11 November 2019 (Armistice)
  • Friday 15 November 2019 (Royal day)
  • Wednesday 25 December 2019 - Wednesday 1 January 2020 (Christmas recess)
  • Friday 20 March 2020 (Dies Natalis)
  • Monday 13 April 2020 (Easter Monday)
  • Friday 1 May 2020 (Labour Day)
  • Thursday 21 May - Friday 22 May 2020 (Ascension)
  • Monday 1 June 2020 (Whit Monday)
  • Monday 20 July 2020 - Friday 24 July 2020 (summer recess)

(Re)search tips

For tips on how to search for research information (print, books, journals, digital,…), on writing a paper, publishing, presenting, critical reading, integrity in science or finance and funding, go to our dedicated webpages :

The Library team

jan-haspeslagh.jpg Stijn Meersseman
Jan Haspeslagh Stijn Meersseman

Practical information

The arrangement of books in the libraries is based on the Library of Congress codes. These codes (expressed by a lettter, a number and in some cases a third number) are a short way to refer to specific subjects. Books can be looked up via the webcatalogue. The exact adres of the branch that contains a specific book, will show on the resultspages. Some books are stored in a closed depot and need to be requested via the catalogue on