GIIS Members

Prof. dr. Dries Lesage (director)

dries-lesage

dries.lesage@ugent.be

Research Interests: Globalization; global governance architecture; multipolarity and global governance; international tax policy

Prof. dr. Sven Biscop

sven-biscop

s.biscop@egmontinstitute.be

Research Interests: International Security; European Common Security and Defense Policy

Prof. dr. Thijs Van de Graaf

thijs-van-de-graaf

thijs.vandegraaf@ugent.be

Research Interests: Energy security, energy policy, international politics, global governance, international institutions Personal website: www.thijsvandegraaf.be

Prof. dr. Mattias Vermeiren

mattias-vermeiren

mattias.vermeiren@ugent.be

Research Interests: International monetary and financial relations, international political economy, comparative capitalisms

Prof. dr. Goedele De Keersmaeker

goedele-de-keersmaeker

goedele.dekeersmaeker@ugent.be

Research Interests: International politics and security issues; global power relations; multipolarity in historical perspective

Prof. dr. Erik Paredis

Erik Paredis

Erik.Paredis@UGent.be

Research Interests: politics of sustainable development, system innovation and socio-technical transitions, transition governance, sustainable technology and politics

Dr. Tim Haesebrouck

tim-haesebrouck

tim.haesebrouck@ugent.be

Research Interests: European Common Security and Defense Policy; military intervention; Qualitative Comparative Analysis

Em. prof. dr. Rik Coolsaet

rik-coolsaet

rik.coolsaet@ugent.be

Research Interests: International politics, foreign policy of Belgium, security politics, terrorism; diplomacy

Dr. Jeroen Joly

Jeroen Joly

jeroen.joly@ugent.be

Research Interests: foreign policy analysis, party governance and media effects, humanitarian and development aid Personal website: http://jeroenjoly.wixsite.com/jeroenjoly

Wouter Lips

wouter-lips

wouter.lips@ugent.be

Research Interests: International political economy; international tax governance

Mathieu Blondeel

Mathieu Blondeel

Mathieu.Blondeel@ugent.be

Research Interests: global energy politics, energy & development, global governance

Huanyu Zhao

Huanyu Zhao

huanyu.zhao@ugent.be

Research Interests: Global governance, China's foreign policy, BRICS, G20, G7

Anouschka van Immerseel

Anouschka van Immerseel

Anouschka.VanImmerseel@UGent.be

Research Interests: International politics, European Common Security and Defense Policy

Faye De Coen

Faye De Coen

Faye.DeCoen@Ugent.be

Research Interests: International politics, foreign policy of Turkey, relationship between Turkey and the Arab world

Affiliated Researchers

Dr. Sacha Dierckx

sacha-dierckx

dierckxsacha@gmail.com

Research Interests: Capital controls; political economy of the BRICss; critical IPE; neogramscianism

Dr. Mohammed Alsaftawi

Mohammed Alsaftawi

Mohammed.Alsaftawi@UGent.be

Research Interests: International politics, conflict regions, and the relationship between Turkey, Palestine and Israel.

Melanie Van Meirvenne

melanie-van-meirvenne

melanie.vanmeirvenne@ugent.be

Research Interests: European Common Security and Defense Policy; transatlantic relations

Jennifer Kesteleyn

jennifer-kesteleyn

jennifer.kesteleyn@ugent.be

Research Interests: Economic diplomacy; business diplomacy; international political economy

Thomas Renard

thomas-renard

t.renard@egmontinstitute.be

Research Interests: EU Strategic Partnerships; multipolarity and global order; EU foreign and security policy; emerging powers; counter-terrorism

Dr. Frederik Coene

frederik-coene

coene@coene.org

Research Interests:  EU Foreign Policy, Caucasus, Central Asia

Dr. Xavier L.W. Liao

Dr. xavier-liao

liwen.liao@UGent.be

Research Interests: Global (Outer) Space Governance; space security, safety and sustainability issues; regional and international collaboration on space activities; space powers; space policy

Dr. Rui Zhang

Rui Zhang

ruzhang.zhang@ugent.be

Research Interests: Chinese foreign policy; security governance; cultural theories of international relations

Dr. Remziye Yilmaz

Remziye Yilmaz

Remziye.Yilmaz@UGent.be

Research Interests: Energy Geopolitics, Turkey’s Energy Strategy, Turkish Foreign Policy, EU-Turkey Relations

Emin Daskin


Emin.Daskin@ugent.be

Research Interests: Political Violence; Propaganda; Security